Skip to content

5.23.13

May 23, 2013
tags:

It has been a very stressful week this week. Not even in terms of work, but in ways that probably only introverts find stressful. I recently found the book Quiet:The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. I read the introduction and first two chapters on Thursday and have yet to pick it up again, but already it is ringing true.

I’ll probably want to write more on it later, but this post is all about stress relief.

I never had much stress in high school and college. While all my friends were freaking out over the standard drama or about getting assignments finished on time, I simply figured if it was going to happen or get finished – it would. So aside from the yearly freak out I had during my first two years in iARC, it was quite a blessing. Then I graduated, and the real world started. And when I finally found a job, things didn’t go like I wanted them to, and the worrying started again. But lately, despite not knowing what will come of the work I do now, I am actually happy with the work. Our manager was out on training last week, leaving me the official stand-in as question-answer-er and organizer while she was gone. And while Tuesday was a challenge simply because I haven’t had a vacation day since the beginning of April, I found myself telling her later it was all just organizing to me, so I liked it.

And now this week, we are all in training at our plant. Which brings the challenge of other departments not listening when we say we are too busy, because we’re here aren’t we? Why should they send out for what they need when we’re here? And then there are more people than usual in our tiny space; all talking and working and talking louder at the same time. And while I try to be adaptable and work within the chaos, I’m again blaming the lack of vacation down time on my supremely irritated mood this week. We’re learning a new program, which I would normally embrace, but I don’t think the reasoning behind it is more than “Because I said so,” so I’m resistant to learning it. Then one of the teachers is not the best at helping others who don’t already know what he’s doing, so even I fight to keep up when he’s clicking around and talking at the same time. Then any down-time to check and send email at my desk is hindered by the amount of people trying to take up residence in our shared office space.

So this morning, I find myself listening to Attack! Attack! with both headphones in, and deciding to try and be more adaptable and unflappable in the face of so many people and conversations. To try and keep my cool when I am “in charge” and just get things done. Freaking out gets no one anywhere, and it just makes me more annoyed. To put it in the words of the current favorite [overused] phrase – Keep calm, and carry on.

So here I go. Off to more training and trying to keep my cool. Thank heaven I’m taking a vacation day after Monday’s nation-wide vacation day. It’s definitely time for lots of sleep and a trip to Asheville.

Also, it’s my little brother’s 21st birthday today. I can’t believe it. And I have no idea what to get him, especially after his amazingly perfect presents he gave me for this past Christmas and birthday :/ Just one more thing to add to the list.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

