Skip to content

J.W.

February 8, 2012

This past weekend, my grandfather passed away at the age of 87.

After a long life, and a battle with leukemia and non-hodgkin’s lymphoma, he passed away in his sleep – with his wife of 65   years and two daughters [my mother and aunt] at his side.

Going into this past weekend, I was very upset. Since my dad called on Tuesday with the news that my grandfather had decided to stop treatment, there was never a time I wasn’t thinking of him and what he was going through and would go through. When I got more information from my mom, I was under the impression we had a little time still. While this made me happy that I would get to see him more, it also plagued me with thoughts of him in more pain. However, upon arriving at the hospital Friday afternoon, it was immediately apparent to me that we would not have that much time. He had been in and out all day, and was able to recognize me was I entered the room, and chat a little bit. After that, he never really came around again, except to say that he wanted to go home.

After the goodbyes from everyone that night,  I was somewhat prepared the next morning when my parents came in to tell me the news. It was a similar, if not exactly the same situation as when my dad’s dad died three years ago. However, after hearing the news, I didn’t cry as much as I thought I would. After preparing myself for weeks of more pain and having to see him slowly slip away, it was a relief to know he would no longer be in pain. He would no longer have to deal with all the things his body had been plaguing him with since September. It was hard to see my grandmother, mother and aunts grieve his passing – but we all said he was in a better place. He had always been a man of God, and my grandmother was content with seeing him again one day.

All of this is to say – my grandfather was a wonderful man. I didn’t get to know him too well until this past few years – though I’ve been around him all my life. Especially this past year, I’ve gotten to spend more time with him and learning about him, and I feel so lucky to have had that time. I know the days ahead will be hard, but I also know he is in a better place and much happier than he has ever been.

Today through the visitation, service and graveside – I didn’t cry like I thought I would. But at the beginning of the service my family had chosen this song to play, and it still brings tears to my eyes now. Not because of sadness, but because of so much happiness and hope welling in my heart. This describes my grandfather’s beliefs perfectly, and if I could have I would have sung it at the top of my lungs today.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tiffany permalink
    February 8, 2012 9:25 pm

    Heartfelt post, I’m glad you shared this. ❤

  2. Tori permalink
    February 9, 2012 1:32 pm

    Love this song. Thinking about you… let me know if you need anything

  3. daniellegardner permalink*
    February 9, 2012 11:23 pm

    Thank you both 🙂

Leave a Reply

