Skip to content

poetry

March 14, 2011

I seem to be in an old world + poetry mood lately. I’ve had this quote from Pride & Prejudice stuck in my head for days now…

Elizabeth Bennet- “I wonder who first discovered the power of poetry in driving away love.”
Mr. Darcy – ”I thought poetry was the food of love?”
Elizabeth – “Of a fine, stout love, it may. But if it is only a vague inclination I’m convinced one poor sonnet will kill it stone dead.”

And then this past weekend I finally got around to watching Bright Star – the love story between the English Romantic poet John Keats and his muse Fanny Brawne and there was more poetry to think on…

“You say you love; but then your hand
No soft squeeze for squeeze returneth,
It is like a statue’s dead –
While mine to passion burneth –
O love me truly!

O breathe a word or two of fire!
Smile, as if those words should burn be,
Squeeze as lovers should – O kiss
And in thy heart inurn me!
O love me truly!”

From “You Say You Love”

And then his poem about/to Franny – his bright star

“Bright star, would I were steadfast as thou art –
Not in lone splendour hung aloft the night
And watching, with eternal lids apart,
Like Nature’s patient, sleepless Eremite,
The moving waters at their priestlike task
Of pure ablution round earth’s human shores,
Or gazing on the new soft-fallen mask
Of snow upon the mountains and the moors –
No – yet still stedfast, still unchangeable,
Pillow’d upon my fair love’s ripening breast,
To feel for ever its soft fall and swell,
Awake for ever in a sweet unrest,
Still, still to hear her tender-taken breath,
And so live ever – or else swoon to death.”


I must confess I’m really not one for poetry – I most often loathed it in all my English classes. I just never understood it, and was never very good at creating it myself. But Keats I mostly understand. And I think I liked [loved] the movie and his poetry because it combines my usually taste for depressing love things [my “love songs” list consists of the depressing and not-about-the-good-parts-of-love songs] and lovey-love things [if you will excuse the high-school wording]. What I mean to say is occasionally I will like something ridiculously romantic – such as Pride & Prejudice or even the new movie The Adjustment Bureau…stories about two characters so in love with each other they overlook flaws or wait years to be together.

Ever since a big event my sophomore year of college, I’ve had to reassess my views on things and started to think differently on things I thought I was sure of in my previous 20 years….shall I just go ahead and say that love is one them? I’ve learned these past few years not to be too definite in what you think of some things, and love has become one of them. My opinions on it are always changing now-a-days and are quite different than they were when I was younger. It also so happens that a friend of mine and I have been discussing love and relationships for some months now, and while her situation was really supposed to be about her learning and discover and deciding on her opinions and views, it’s made me think and start to discover and decide on things as well.

All of this is to say that I think these old world stories and poems and letters have become something that make me think, and will influence my future thoughts on these things. And they have also started to alter my previous dislike and misunderstandings of poetry. I’m not sure if  all this really makes sense and I know it’s quite different than my normal posting, but it’s been on my mind for some time now and I felt I had to write it out. And this is supposed to be my collection of inspiration so it only seemed fitting to add it to the archives.

[Aslo I’m always happy to promote/talk about movies haha
Seriously though… you should see The Adjustment Bureau. It was ridiculously good]

[photo via brian ferry]

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tori permalink
    March 14, 2011 1:50 pm

    Can’t believe there were actually words in this post. I loved it. And just so you know, I look at whatever you put up whether there are words in it or not. 😉
    We need to get back to emailing.. and I’ve started another blog, if you’d like the URL to that as well.

    • daniellegardner permalink*
      March 14, 2011 5:10 pm

      ha-ha and thank you.
      and i would like that URL if you please

  2. Tiffany permalink
    March 15, 2011 12:04 am

    Word are certainly powerful.
    I’m glad my yapping has made some difference for you.

    This year is about big changes!

Leave a Reply

