Skip to content

bookin

April 16, 2010

These past few weeks…or month…I’ve been learning how to make paper in my design methods for crafts class. And after making many, many sheets [92 to be exact], I tore all those piece in-half [to make 155 pieces] and decided to create a book. And I’ve already sewn together one made up of all the “broken” super thin pieces, but this one is with the “good paper”. And I wanted to do something with screenprinting in it, I just had no idea what.
So after seeing Clash of the Titans, I of course had to go back and read about Mr. Perseus and see if his story was as I remembered it, as it is not the same in the movie. And from there the idea was born to create my own Ovid’s Metamorphoses – only this one would be full of my favorite stories. And so below you see the almost finished works. 

I still have to add in some pictures and title pages…and sew it all together…and possibly construct a hardback cover with balsa wood, some fabric and hinges.

And needless to say, this little lovely has finally given me an idea for a good senior project [which is due december of this year before i graduate]. So I believe, as of now, I will be making more paper to create a set of tiny books. And I will fill them with my favorite things – a list of which now consist of maps, favorite song excerpts, favorite movie excerpts and another [better] Metamorphoses. It will be quite a task, and will require LOTS AND LOTS of tea tree oil for me to reek of for many months after. But it will be a cute and lovely little bookshelf when it’s finished.

So I just had to share, should someone read this, so I may ask for your opinion:

What do you think? Is it a “good” final senior project? Let me know 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 12:21 pm

    I like your little book. I think it will make a really interesting senior project! Although for your senior one I’d like to see it larger in dimensions and possibly not as thick. I think it would also be nice to have ink illustrations inside, kind of like a little scrapbook/sketchbook or story book 🙂

    • daniellegardner permalink*
      April 18, 2010 10:20 pm

      yeah…they’ll definetly be at least a little bigger – wider if anything. and i added illustrations this weekend! 😀 but probably only the maps and mythology ones would have illustrations…unless i think of something for the movie and song quotes.
      thanks for your input though! 😀

Leave a Reply

